How to set up online reservation modification

In this article, you’ll learn how to allow your customers to modify their reservation online, independently.

 

Summary

  1. How does it work?
  2. How to set up online reservation modification
  3. What happens with reservations that include payment?
  4. Common Issues & FAQs


What you need to know

Online reservation modification allows your customers to update certain details of their booking (date, time, number of guests, etc.) without having to call you. 

You can change these settings on the web app or iOS app. Android users must use the web app.

 

1. How does it work?

Once online reservation modification is activated, customers will see a link in their confirmation email allowing them to modify their reservation within the allowed time frame. They will be able to modify their reservation even if it includes a prepayment or credit card hold (unless you disable this — see part 3 below).

If you're using manual reservation confirmation, you will need to confirm the booking again after the customer makes a change.

 

2. How to set up online reservation modification

Enable the online reservation modification option from your service settings.

  • Go to Settings > Reserve > Operations > Schedule

  • Click on the service you want to edit

  • Go to the third tab, Online Automation, and scroll down to Modifications

  • Toggle on Online reservation modification 

  • Set a time limit (e.g. 2 hours before the reservation)

  • Click Save & Close

You can also choose to disable this option and you will see a pop-up warning about it before you confirm.

 

3. What happens with reservations that include payment?

If you enable online reservation modification, then by default, guests can also modify reservations that include a prepayment or credit card hold, without contacting you.

You can check this particular setting and enable or disable it by following the steps below:

  • Go to Settings > Reserve > Operations > Schedule

  • Click on the service you want to edit

  • Go to the fourth tab, Payment options

  • Toggle on or off Online reservation modification with payment.

  • Be sure to Save your changes.

  • If this functionality is enabled, then an alert on the reservation details will highlight that a booking with a payment has been modified.

IMPORTANT NOTE: No payment recalculation, new charges, or refunds are triggered; the original payment amount remains unchanged. Any financial adjustment must be handled manually by the restaurant.
 
 

4. Common Issues & FAQs

Common Issues

  • My guest can't modify their reservation — The time limit set in your service settings may have already passed, or online modification for reservations with payment may not be enabled for that service.
  • The reservation was modified but payment was not adjusted — This is working as designed; please handle all payment recalculations manually.

FAQs

  • How do I know if the option is activated? — If the switch is enabled in your settings and a time limit has been defined, your guests will be able to modify their reservation within the allowed time frame. 
  • Why isn’t the modification link visible? — Check that the option is activated and that the confirmation email includes the correct content. If the reservation is too close in time (based on the set limit), the modification link will not appear. 
  • How do I accept or decline a reservation modification request? — You have chosen the manual confirmation mode for reservations and have just received a modification request from one of your guests. This reservation is therefore marked as pending. To accept the request, click its status button and then click “Confirmed”. The same process applies if you wish to decline the request. In that case, click on “Cancelled”.