In this article, you’ll learn how to manage user accounts and their access rights.
Summary
- Getting started
- How to manage user accounts and access
- Common Issues & FAQ
What you need to know
With Zenchef, you can now independently manage your team’s user access. You can:
- Create new accounts for your team
- Link these accounts to a venue in your group
- Control their access (reservations, settings, marketing, etc.)
- Remove a user’s access to your venue when they leave
👉 This feature is not yet available in the mobile app. Please use the web app.
To manage accounts, you must be logged in as a user with Accounts access (formerly called User Management).
1. Getting started
When initially setting up Zenchef, the Administrator account is the first user account created by default, and only the Administrator can create, modify and delete other user profiles. The Administrator can then create new users (including other Administrators, or a range of other account types).
Go to Settings > General & Team > Team > Accounts to get started.
2. How to manage user accounts and access
Create/Add an account:
- Click +New to add a new user
- Enter the user’s details: First name, Last name, Email
- Define that user's Feature Access (one or more features)*: Accounts (which gives User Management rights), Reserve, Website, Reviews, Campaigns, Settings, Billing and/or Owner.
- Manage and Grow subscribers will also see a toggle for Lock screen. When this option is enabled, and you log in with this user account, the system will show a locked screen between users, requiring a name and personal Staff PIN to unlock it. In this way, every action on a shared device is attributed to an individual.
- Click Invite
*More access restrictions will be available in the future.
If the EMAIL already has a Zenchef account: The existing account information will be used, and the venue will be added to the user. An email will be sent to that address to inform them that the venue has been linked to their account.
If the EMAIL doesn't already have a Zenchef account: An email will be sent to inform them of the account creation. The email will contain a temporary password and an invitation to log in and change it.
Keep in mind that:
- Access rights only apply to the venue for which the user account is created. An account can have different rights for the venues it is linked to.
- Access depends first and foremost on your subscription. For example, if you haven’t subscribed to Marketing Suite, even if the user has access, Marketing Suite won’t be available.
Modify an account:
It is not possible to modify personal information such as First name, Last name, and Email. However, the Administrator, and those with Accounts (User Management) permission, can manage and edit access rights.
- Click the pencil icon (Edit) next to the user you want to modify
- Click Save when you're finished
Remember that access rights only apply to the venue for which the user account is created. An account can have different privileges for each venue it is linked to.
Delete an account:
It is not possible to delete a Zenchef user account outright. However, you can detach your venue from the user profile in question. They will still have a login and password but will no longer be able to access your venue.
- Go to Settings > General & Team > Team > Accounts
- Select a user and click the trash icon on the right (Remove)
- Click Delete in the pop-up window to confirm
3. Common Issues & FAQ
Common Issues
I can’t access user management. — Make sure you have Accounts (User Management) permission. If not, contact someone on your team with Administrator access.
My email is already used for a Zenchef account. — If the email is already associated with a Zenchef account, the venue will be added to that user. You’ll then be able to switch between accounts in a few clicks.
FAQ
How do I assign different rights to a user for multiple venues? — Access rights are set per venue. You can assign different rights for each venue by repeating the creation or modification process for each one.
I forgot my password. — You can reset your password directly from the login page by clicking "Forgot password".